TCCLS 2021 PhD thesis Award – Winners

The IEEE Technical Committee on Computational Life Sciences offered the PhD Thesis Award. For 2021, the award selection committee reported below selected the following two awardees. Our compliments to the two awardees! The interested readers will find below a 2-minute videos summarizing each contribution, a summary, and the whole PhD thesis. The award consists of a Certificate and an honorarium of $800.

DeepSynthBody: the beginning of the end for data deficiency in medicine

Vajira Thamabawita


Abstract: download

Interpretability of Deep Learning for Medical Image Classification: Improved Understandability and Generalization

Mara Graziani

University of Genève

Abstract: download


Award Selection Committee


Ghada Alzamzmi, National  Library of Medicine, US (past recipient)

Alfredo Benso, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Zacharie Mbaitiga, National Institute of Technology, Okinawa College, Japan

Mariacarla Memeo, Fondazione Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy (past recipient)

Paolo Soda, Università Campus Bio-Medico di Roma, Italy

Agma J. M. Traina,  University of Sao Paulo, Brasil