TCCLS 2019 PhD thesis Award – Winners

The IEEE Technical Committee on Computational Life Sciences offered the PhD Thesis Award. For 2019, the award selection committee reported below selected the following two awardees: Dr. Ghada Alzamzmi and Dr. Mariacarla Memeo. Our compliments to the two awardees! The interested readers will find below a 2-minute videos summarizing each contribution, an abstract and the whole PhD thesis. The award consists of a Certificate and an honorarium of $600.

Last update 2020/07/24

Automatic Multimodal Assessment of Neonatal Pain

Ghada Alzamzmi
National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Abstract: download

Interactive and effective representation of digital content through touch using local tactile feedback

Mariacarla Memeo
Fondazione Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, University of Genova

Abstract: download


Award Selection Committee


Alfredo Benso, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Zacharie Mbaitiga, National Institute of Technology, Okinawa College, Japan

Paolo Soda, Università Campus Bio-Medico di Roma, Italy

Agma J. M. Traina,  University of Sao Paulo, Brasil